Administrative Setup

The first administrative outpost at Noklak was established in the year 1952 with the posting of a Political officer under the erstwhile North Eastern frontier Agency (NEFA). It was upgraded to the post of Assistant Commissioner-II in the year 1959. Later, two officers, the Sub-Divisional Officer (Civil) Hq and Additional Deputy Commissioner Hq were posted in the year 1981 and 1991 respectively. Presently, it has been upgraded to a District Status notified during the year 2017 and operationalised with the Posting of the Deputy Commissioner on 30th July 2020.
Administratively, the District has presently 3 Administration Hqs namely SDO (Civil) Thonoknyu, EAC Panso and EAC Nokhu. The Status of 1 Administration Circle namely Chingmei EAC which was earlier under the District is yet to be finalized at State Government level. Creation of two more EAC Hqs is currently under consideration by the Government.

Villages under Noklak District

No. of Recognised Villages No. of unecognised Villages Total number of villages
36  6 42
Name of Administrative Unit No. of Villages
Noklak Hq.  8
Nokhu  6
Thonoknyu  15